The Boston Bruins clinched the Presidents’ Trophy with their franchise-record 58th win, defeating the Columbus Blue Jackets 2-1 in overtime. David Pastrnak scored the winning goal – his 53rd of the season – just 41 seconds into overtime, after Hampus Lindholm passed to him for the backhand winner. The Presidents’ Trophy is awarded to the NHL regular-season points leader. The Bruins are now four wins away from equalling Detroit’s NHL record of 62 set in 1995-96 and matched by Tampa Bay in 2018-19. Tyler Bertuzzi had a tying power-play goal, whilst Michael Hutchinson made 29 saves. Boston tied it when Bertuzzi redirected Pavel Zacha’s pass between Hutchinson’s pads. Jack Roslovic scored for Columbus. Boston faces Pittsburgh next, whilst Columbus hosts Florida.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *